Thanksgiving Dinner

Ingredients: vegetables, grains, Tofurky, love.

I don’t know what’s going on with my emotions these days, but sitting down to an American Thanksgiving Dinner in Kristianstad, Sweden actually brought tears to my eyes. I think I finally miss home. What I miss isn’t actually there anymore, and I’m okay with that, but it’s definitely time to begin cultivating some new family traditions.

I used to scoff at traditions. I never scoffed at handrails, or seatbelts for that matter. Seems hypocritical.

So, who wants a fat slice of Tofurky?!

My vegan centerpiece ended up absolutely delicious. I’d never had Tofurky before, but assumed it would be gummy and tasteless. It wasn’t. The texture was pleasantly dense and meaty, with a bit of realistic fibrousness. The flavor was certainly reminiscent of turkey, without trying too hard (as some vegan products do). I basted the Tofurky in a marinade of garlic, onion, thyme, sage, red wine vinegar, olive oil, and Maggi (which is a bit like a cross between soy and Worcestershire). I give this blend a thumbs up. The giblet gravy that came with the Tofurky was okay, but unnecessary.

My dinner mate does not care for mashed potatoes, so I prepared some fluffy chewy bulgur instead. I also served sweet corn, and creamed spinach.

Leftovers disappeared quickly, as expected. Can’t wait for next year!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Dinner”

  1. Paluka Says:

    I am surprised every year by how tasty the tofurkey actually is.

  2. KK Says:

    I used to have a serious Tofukey addiction when I actually had some willpower :-P

    The jerky, the cold cuts. Tofukey made all the best stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

