Corn on the Cob

corn

Ingredients: corn, onion, butter, parsley, dill, lemon, salt, black pepper.

The season’s first corn on the cob arrived this week. I eagerly snatched up a couple ears and prayed that they would taste as good as they looked. I was not disappointed. These were sweet, crisp, firm, and succulent, the kind of corn on the cob that reminds me not to settle for the canned variety.

The standard way I prepare corn on the cob is to shuck them, snap them in half, then boil them in salted water for around 6-8 minutes. Afterward, if it isn’t too inconvenient, I like to sit them on a grill for a few more minutes to get some color and aroma. Then I melt butter in a tupperware container, add a fair amount of salt and pepper to it, roll the ears around in it, and serve.

This time, I was feeling indulgent (or perhaps I just felt like showing off for the blog). In addition to the steps I mentioned above, I also added parsley, dill, and a squeeze of lemon juice to the seasoning mixture. After their butterbaths, I sprinkled the corn cobs with crunchy rostad lök (roasted onion). This is a very popular condiment in Sweden, somewhat similar to Durkee French Fried Onions, and usually accompanies the traditional street food of korv med mos (hotdog & instant mashed potatoes).

The corn on the cob turned out fantastic. It was excellent quality corn to begin with, and the nice herby tang of lemon & dill truly complemented its flavor. I was also pleased to notice that just a bit of those crunchy onions really brought out the natural crisp texture of the corn.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Corn on the Cob”

  1. Kevin Says:

    That looks like a great way to enjoy some fresh corn on the cob!

  2. Senkzilla Says:

    These look great! Tho i feel you should have mentioned how overpriced fresh corn is in Sweden. I have seen very few cornfields around the country, for some reason. I think it’s all imported.

Leave a Reply

