Tortellini Puttanesca

puttanesca

Ingredients: mackarel in tomato sauce, kalamata olive, capers, garlic, parsley, red wine, chili flakes, bay leaf, basil, oregano, lemon, olive oil, salt.

Served with: cheese tortellini.

This was a quick meal I constructed in just a few minutes (aside from boiling the water for the tortellini). I didn’t even expect to photograph it, but it came out so vibrant and delicious that I couldn’t resist.

I’ve already written about Swedish makrill i tomatsås here. The fish fillets taste pretty much the same as tuna, but with the consistency of pork barbecue. The tomato sauce is thin and salty, which I like very much, and provides an excellent base for a quick pasta sauce. I figured the mackarel itself would go nicely with puttanesca, as a hearty replacement for the traditional anchovy.

I started by sautéing garlic, chopped kalamata olives, capers, chili flakes, and a bay leaf in olive oil. I kept the heat low so as not to burn anything. Next I added the mackerel and its tomato sauce, plus a big splash of red wine. After a couple minutes, I turned off the heat and crumbled in some herbs (dried oregano, dried basil, fresh parsley). A bit of salt and a twist of lemon after tasting, and done!

To serve, I tossed some cheap tortellini in the sauce. They soaked it up admirably, absorbing the rich flavors and doing a fantastic imitation of an expensive meal. I will definitely be making this again.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Tortellini Puttanesca”

  1. Pam Says:

    Yum. This dish is my kind of comfort food…it looks terrific.

  2. Kerstin Says:

    What a super flavorful tortellini dish, it looks great!

  3. Kevin Says:

    What a tasty looking pasta!

  4. Sally Says:

    Ever since viewing Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events the word “puttanesca” has been one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

