Salmon, Brussels Sprouts

salmon_brussels_2

Ingredients: salmon, olive oil, white wine vinegar, mustard, shallot powder, Herbes de Provence, black pepper, salt… Brussels sprouts, button mushrooms, Basmati rice, dry sherry, lemon, butter, garlic, parsley, black pepper, salt.

I felt like having a simple, rustic salmon dish. Usually I grill salmon fillets, but lately I’ve been having trouble keeping these particular ones from falling apart on my grill pan. I suspect it’s the integrity of the fish itself, which tastes fine, but is a little crumbly. Instead, I pan-fried the fillet after marinating in homemade Italian dressing. It came out nice and crispy, with an herby floral aroma.

On the side, I prepared some halved button mushrooms and Brussels sprouts. I sautéed them quickly in butter and garlic, with a hefty dose of salt & pepper. To cut through the richness, I splashed a little dry sherry in the pan afterward.

For starch, I began by toasting some raw Basmati rice in the pan where I had just prepared my vegetables. It’s a tragic waste to just dunk a used pan in the sink; one should always try to deglaze the delicious crusty bits somehow. By preparing my rice in the same pan, I managed to infuse all that leftover garlicky butter into my other side dish. After the rice had toasted a bit, I filled the pan with water, covered it, and let it simmer for about 20 minutes until done. Fresh parsley and a twist of lemon finished it off.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Salmon, Brussels Sprouts”

  1. Tanya Says:

    This looks great. Salmon is like my comfort food.

  2. Sally Says:

    How about a fish taco recipe using salmon? I’m a salmon lover too!

Leave a Reply

